instagram linkedin
Related People

A Celebration of Local Industry: The Eden Welcome Centre

The new Eden Welcome Centre is a celebration of the town’s main industries of fishing, forestry and tourism, standing as a symbol of optimism for the future of the town.

Located on the fisherman’s co-op site in Eden, the centre will facilitate the movement of up to 100,000 cruise passengers to the region each year.

The Welcome Centre will be a two-storey box-like form, connected to a veranda with angled timber cladding – alluding to the patterns of maritime flag semaphores. The building form references the robust wharf side buildings of the fishing industry, emblematic of Eden’s traditional architecture.  The design of the building not only reflects its maritime connections but aims to recognise and celebrate local industry, with its structure and cladding made from local Indigenous hardwoods.

The ground floor will house the Eden Visitor Information Centre, along with a covered area for market stalls and public amenities. The first floor will house offices, along with meeting rooms, kitchen, and amenities.

The addition of a veranda to shelter market stalls will see new life brought to the waterfront. The lofty, sheltered space will shade and cool occupants, taking advantage of its northly orientation with natural lighting for the depth of the market. Large slatted timber tip up doors extend the veranda when open but provide respite from inclement weather when closed.

The building design is modular, allowing for future growth in an area with anticipated expansion.

COX Director, David Holm

Informed design choices will give both locals and visitors a building that is of its place and for its people.

Port Authority of New South Wales are anticipating a completion of the building construction and internal fit-out by December 2020, ready for the potential 2020-2021 revived cruise season.

Torrens Junction Rail Separation Project: Bowden Station


Wynyard Station Upgrade


North Melbourne Rail Station


Andy Medhurst

Cynthia Wu

David Holm

Hannah Clifton

Ingrid Kelly

Jimmy Kuo

John Ferendinos

Leanne Noh

Tijana Papandrea