instagram linkedin
Related People

Project Contact

Brendan Gaffney

Akiko Spencer

Anthony Mitchell

Belinda Williamson

Brendan Kenny

Brett Miles

Bronwyn Rorke

Casey Vallance

Charlotte Churchill

Christopher Wardle

Dale Armstrong

Danielle Borowski

Elise Harris

Esther McKinnon

Gary McFeat

Greg Wines

Hamish Brown

Hiranga Goonawardena

Jack Dodgson

Jayson Blight

Kara West

Kim Richards

Madeleine Webb

Marianella Picon Fernandez

Matthew Cavanough

Megan MacKenzie

Michael Bailey

Michael Rayner

Michelle Fitzgerald

Milan Winkler

Peter Hale

Rashan Senanayake

Samantha Ritch

Stephen Gunn

Tristan Gration

Troy Rafton

Sir Samuel Griffith Centre

Nathan, Brisbane

The Sir Samuel Griffith Centre is the capstone of a major urban revitalisation program by COX for Griffith University’s Nathan Campus.

The building is designed to regenerate the campus’ character into one of accessibility and transparency, and to epitomise Griffith’s identity as one of Australia’s leading environmental universities.

The design combines the world’s first use of solar-hydrogen energy technology with a spatial design that fulfils the University’s aspirations of creating a fully self-sustainable, zero carbon research and learning building. The key spatial element is a naturally ventilated spine of glazed rainshields supported by a tensegrity structure that optimises visual connectivity between collaboration zones and the street.

In uniting the University’s environmental research groups, its visible sustainability technologies, and other related crafted spatial qualities, the Sir Samuel Griffith Centre has transformed the perception and experience of the campus.


State Award for Sustainable Architecture, AIA QLD 2015
State Commendation for Educational Architecture, AIA QLD 2015
High Commendation in Public Building & Urban Design, BPN Sustainability Awards 2014
Shortlisted in Production, Energy & Recycling, WAF 2014

Technical Information

Nathan, Brisbane
Griffith University
Completed, 2009-2013
Key Consultants
Bornhorst & Ward, Dennis Cairns & Associates, Aurecon, SKM, Donald Cant Watts Corke
Watpac Specialty Services
Gross Floor Area
Christopher Frederick Jones