instagram linkedin
Related People

Construction of the Sydney Football Stadium Hits Another Milestone

Construction of the Sydney Football Stadium has reached another key juncture with installation of the first pieces of the steel diagrid roof elements. The diagrid gives the roof its unique form and is one of the central design aspects of the stadium.

As a part of our typological evolution of stadia roofs from AAMI Park to Adelaide Oval, the diagrid roof form provides a lightweight double curvature form that does more with less steel.   This approach to lightness maximises roof coverage and atmosphere within the seating bowl, creates a new dynamic form in Moore Park, and embodies the latest in fabrication and environmental sustainability outcomes.


There are 32 diagrid sections currently under construction and being lifted into place.  Each weighing up to 22 tonnes these elegant frames will support the fabric roof covering.

In addition, all the steel rakers and concrete seating plats have now been installed, as well as all four primary roof support structures known as ‘derricks’, as well as the North and South trusses.



Other activities on site include the installation of the seats, the fit-out of internal public spaces, the precast concrete walls and the external metal stadium façade panelling.

Over the next six months, construction activities will include the progressive removal of tower cranes, public domain and landscaping works.

We can’t wait to hear the roar of the fans and witness the feats of the athletes in 2022.

Allianz Stadium Redevelopment




Adelaide Oval Redevelopment

North Adelaide

Alastair Richardson

Alex York

Andrew Lyons

Andy Leong

Andy Medhurst

Anthony Crozier

Cynthia Wu

Duncan Mackinnon

Emilia Firus

Hannah Clifton

Imad Khan

Jared Smith

Jarrod Jooste

Joe Agius

John Ferendinos

Johnson Kuo

Karen Morris

Lauren Garth

Lloyd Caneta

Lydia Vegas

Mark Kowalyov

Mark Marcelino

Martin Gaardboe

Matthew Batchelor

Michael Ferreyra

Naomi Evans

Patrick Ness

Pete DuPreez

Pete Sullivan

Prerna Bhaskar

Qais Sojitrawalla

Renae Prisov

Rola Tarawn

Russell Lee

Shohan Somasundaram

Stuart Harper

Tom Pinyon

Tom Wyburn

Xinyi Wang