instagram linkedin
Related People

Project Contact

Fernando Faugno

Louise Buckingham

Mario Celik

Mark Hainsworth

Renae Prisov

Steve Woodland

Alison Paine

Anna Hockley

Anthony Hines

Blair Smith

Cassandra Wade

Christian Wetjen

Clive Clifford

David McMorrow

David Mitchell

Deepti Wetjen

Derek Tallon

Domenica Giancola

Edward Tran

Eko Pam

Gareth Sullivan

Gary Giles

Graham Sands

Janette Aspensjoe

Jenny DeMarchi

Joanna Wilczynska

Katarzyna Czajko

Kate Milligan

Kate Moore

Katharine Bateman

Kevin Kiddey

Michael Thorley

Nicole Gill

Nigel Saull

Peter Van Geloven

Richard Marton

Simon Bodycoat

Simon Freeman

Suang Wei Ng

Timothy Colyer

Tom See Hoo

Vincent Catalano

Yasmin Mousli

District Court of Western Australia


The District Court of Western Australia is an environment of human dignity and physical comfort that respects its public users and regular occupants.

The desire to create a comfortable and honourable court is represented in interior spaces, with a light-filled and peaceful central space and calm courtroom fit-outs. A contemporary and emblematic urban marker of justice in Perth, its silhouette is instantly recognisable amongst Perth’s ever-expanding city skyline.


Public spaces within the building are highly visible and engage with the normalcy of everyday life. It is a transparent expression of the court’s process and importance in social organisation. The spatial and operational arrangement of the building supports the human elements of ritual, exchange and support.

The building significantly enhances human values in all the processes of justice and delivers clarity of experience for all participants. Public exchange and interface occurs in a highly legible manner providing constant contact with natural light, the horizon and the surrounding city. The building promotes a legible, non-threatening environment where people are firmly oriented in their surroundings.


Rider Levett Bucknall Award for Public Buildings, Property Council of Australia Innovation and Excellence Awards WA 2010

Public Use Building Winner, Master Builders Excellence in Construction Awards 2009 (Brookfield Multiplex)

Technical Information

Department of the Attorney General, State Government of Western Australia
Completed, 2004-2008
Key Consultants
BGE, Wood & Grieve Engineers, SKM, Vipac, Lyons Architecture, JMG Building Surveyors
Brookfield Multiplex
Gross Floor Area
Alison Paine