instagram linkedin
Related People

Project Contact

Russell Lee

Amy Miles

Anna Ganko

Bettina Bartos

Bob Wong

Charlie Chen

Clare Hews

Claudio Aravena Mesías

Domenic Fortuna

Dtai Hansathit

Edward Salib

Evone Chan

Harry Karadimas

Ian Hutchinson

Jayson Blight

Jessica Ball

Joanna Maniscalco

John Eglington

John Seligman

Joshua Young

Julie Watts

Katherine Irwin Faulks

Kim Saggers

Kristian O’Brien

Kurt Ridgway

Leanne Mitchell

Liz Blake

Lizzy Huang

Lucy Williams

Luen Samonte

Monica Bowerman

Nicholas Cheung

Nick Tyrrell

Norman Keshan

Paul Sproule

Paula Bautista

Peter Ung

Philip Atkin

Philippa Marston

Samuel Martin

Sean Chambers

Solomon Romion

Soo Hyun Trinh

Susanne Chan

Tania Taylor

Tommy Wong

Xion Lin

Newcastle Courthouse


The Newcastle Courthouse is located on Hunter Street within the main civic precinct, housing both a courthouse and local government office.


The design includes twelve courtrooms and appears open and inviting while conveying its civic importance. The experience of the public has been given high-priority through open atrium spaces, integrated public art and waiting environments with high levels of comfort – including separated spaces for opposing parties.

The triangular shape of the site was utilised with internal public circulation and waiting spaces that overlook the entry forecourt. Designers also used the building’s shape to take advantage of good solar access and views of the harbour.


Commendation, Public Architecture, AIA NSW, 2016

Technical Information

NSW Department of Justice
Completed, 2011-2015
Key Consultants
APP, AECOM, Taylor Thomson Whitting, WSP, JBA, Turf Design, Douglas Partners, MGAC, GML Heritage, Aquenta
John Holland
Gross Floor Area
Garry Owens- Raygun, John Gollings