Applecross Senior High School Redevelopment

Ardross, Perth, Western Australia

The Minister for Education announced the redevelopment of the Applecross Senior High School on the existing site. The school was established in 1958 and is located on Link Road in the riverside suburb of Ardross, close to Garden City Shopping Centre, Booragoon Bus Transport Hub, and the Melville City Council buildings and Public Library.

The school has established and sustained a reputation for high academic, sporting and cultural achievements, winning many academic exhibitions, awards and competitions, and is often placed among the highest performing public high schools. Applecross, Ardross, Booragoon, Brentwood, Mt Pleasant and Winthrop are the contributory primary schools for Applecross Senior High School.

The school has been redeveloped in stages as a comprehensive Years 8 – 12 school on its current site with an accommodation capacity of 1200 students. The design, construction and integration of facilities for the middle years of schooling, Years 8 and 9, and senior schooling facilities, years 10 to 12, have replaced the existing infrastructure of Applecross Senior High School. Some original facilities such as the gymnasium and science classrooms have been retained and enhanced.

Careful consideration has been given to new, existing and potential links between this project and existing facilities in and around the site. Parent involvement is valued and encouraged through the P&C and canteen, school committees, and School Council.

Applecross Senior High School Redevelopment
Applecross Senior High School Redevelopment
Applecross Senior High School Redevelopment
  • Technical Information
  • Cox Team
In association with
Hames Sharley
Department of Finance Building Management & Works on behalf of Department of Education
Project Status
Completed, 2010-2015
Key Consultants
Pritchard Francis, Aurecon, BEST Consultants, SPP Group, Wood & Grieve Engineers, Urbis
Contractor / Builder
Esslemont Cockram
Gross Floor Area
11,970m2 (6200m2 Refurbished)
Anna-Maree Farris
Patrick Ong
Stephen Lawrence